BOOKS

Raymond Moody, MD

Life After Life

The Bestselling Original Investigation That Revealed  “Near-Death Experiences” 

THE PARADIGM-SHIFTING BOOK IN WHICH “NEAR-DEATH EXPERIENCE” WAS FIRST COINED

by Raymond A. Moody Jr., M.D.

The groundbreaking, bestselling classic, now available in a special fortieth-anniversary edition includes a new foreword from Eben Alexander, M.D., author of Proof of Heaven, and a new afterword by the author.

Raymond Moody is the “father” of the modern NDE (near-death experience) movement, and his pioneering work Life After Life transformed the world, revolutionizing the way we think about death and what lies beyond. Originally published in 1975, it is the groundbreaking study of one hundred people who experienced “clinical death” and were revived, and who tell, in their own words, what lies beyond death.

A smash bestseller that has sold more than thirteen million copies around the globe, Life After Lifeintroduced us to concepts—including the bright light, the tunnel, the presence of loved ones waiting on the other side—that have become cultural memes today, and paved the way for modern bestsellers by Eben Alexander, Todd Burpo, Mary Neal, and Betty Eadie that have shaped countless readers notions about the end life and the meaning of death.

The Light Beyond

Explorations Into the Afterlife

ANSWERS FOR THOSE WITH QUESTIONS ABOUT DEATH

The Light Beyond
by Raymond A Moody, MD & Paul F Perry
Following the publication of Dr. Moody’s groundbreaking book Life After Life, the field of near-death studies exploded with research that uncovered secrets and opened doors to the frontier between life and death. In this reissued classic, Dr. Moody explores the research of his peers, shining light on their work that helps unravel mankind’s greatest mystery: What happens when we die? Inside you will discover:
  • newly confirmed evidence that those who almost die are able to “tap into” a universal knowledge not available to the living.
  • what the moving near-death experiences of children can teach us.
  • why NDEs inspire permanent change and greater appreciation of life, more empathy for others, increased belief in an afterlife, and decreased fear of death.

Dr. Moody offers answers and peace of mind to those who wonder about a world beyond.

Glimpses of Eternity

Sharing a Loved One’s Passage From This Life to the Next

SHARED-DEATH EXPERIENCES: THE POWERFULLY TRANSCENDENT OCCURRENCES THAT LOVED ONES REPORT

Glimpses of Eternity
Book, 'Glimpses of Eternity'

In this ground-breaking book, Raymond Moody, Jr., M.D. PhD, named the “father of near-death experiences” by The New York Times, explores the provocative subject of “shared-death experiences,” the compelling evidence that many people share their loved one’s journey from this life to the next. Dr Moody’s seminal work, Life After Life, completely changed the way in which we view death and dying. This new work continues his research into the afterlife by exploring in detail a wide range of case studies, including his own personal experience during the passing of his mother. Glimpses of Eternity offers comfort and hope, and sheds new light on the mysterious adventure we take at the end of life.

Coming Back

A Psychiatrist Explores Past-Life Journeys

ARE THERE PAST LIVES? READ ABOUT DR. MOODY’S COMPELLING TWO-YEAR INVESTIGATION

“…a lucid, sensible discussion of a mind-boggling subject.” – Kirkus Reviews

Coming Back
Book, 'Coming Back'

Raymond Moody, Jr., M.D. PhD, changed the way we perceive death and dying with his seminal books, Life After Life and The Light Beyond. In this reissued classic, he does it again, investigating past lives with the new science of regression hypnosis.

His goal: To discover if we can indeed recall “past lives” and what such memories tell us about the possibility that death is not the end. A confirmed skeptic with regard to reincarnation, Dr. Moody first became interested in the phenomenon when he encountered psychologically healthy patients who, under deep hypnosis, suddenly began describing in vivid detail episodes from other historical periods they could not possibly have known.

His interest in the meaning of these visions intensified when he decided to undertake his own journey into the baffling and exhilarating realm of “past life” experiences. He himself underwent a deep hypnotic trance that revealed nine former lives, two during the Roman Empire and one as a Chinese woman artist who was brutally murdered. Uncertain what to make of these seemingly genuine past life experiences, Dr. Moody began a comprehensive two-year research project into the subject. Coming Back is the fascinating result of his findings.

Paranormal

My Life in Pursuit of the Afterlife

GET TO KNOW THE MAN WHO REVOLUTIONIZED OUR THINKING ABOUT DEATH AND DYING: A PERSONAL AND VULNERABLE AUTOBIOGRAPHY

Paranormal by Raymond Moody
Book, 'Paranormal'

The bestselling author of Life After Life, Raymond Moody, offers a stunning, myth-busting memoir of everything he has learned in a lifetime studying “the other side” and our connection to it. The grandfather of the NDE (near death experience) movement, Raymond Moody has, in the words of Dr. Larry Dossey, author of The Power of Premonitions, “radically changed the way modern humans think about the afterlife.” Paranormal, essential reading for fans of Dannion Brinkley and Jeffrey Long, is “a thrilling and inspiring literary experience. Anyone who is not grateful for Moody’s immense contribution to human welfare ought to check his pulse.”

Reunions

Visionary Encounters with Departed Loved Ones

SCRYING & THE PSYCHOMANTEUM: ANCIENT TOOLS FOR MODERN-DAY ENCOUNTERS WITH APPARITIONS

Reunions
Book, 'Reunions'

Among his many contributions is Dr. Moody’s extensive work with mirror gazing, and particularly the invention of the psychomanteum, a small chamber, modeled on the Oracles of the Dead, where Ancient Greeks traveled to communicate with their departed loved ones. This book is a collection of the accounts of men and women who have had powerful encounters using the easy-to-learn techniques developed by Dr. Moody.

Making Sense of Nonsense

The Logical Bridge Between Science & Spirituality

WHAT DO THE WHIMSICAL WRITINGS OF DR. SEUSS HAVE IN COMMON WITH NEAR-DEATH EXPERIENCES?

Making Sense of Nonsense
Book, 'Making Sense of Nonsense'

The answer is that nonsense writing and spiritual experiences seem to defy all logic and yet they both can make a powerful personal impact. In this book, New York Times bestselling author Dr. Raymond Moody shares the groundbreaking results of five decades of research into the philosophy of nonsense, revealing dynamic new perspectives on language, logic, and the mystical side of life.

Explore the meaningful feelings that accompany nonsense language and learn how engaging with nonsense can help you on your own spiritual path. Discover how nonsense transcends classical logic, opening the doorway to new spiritual and philosophical breakthroughs. With dozens of examples from literature, comedy, music, and the history of religion, this book presents a unique new approach to the mysteries of the human spirit.

Lisa Smartt, MA

Words At The Threshold

What We Say as We’re Nearing Death

WHAT LAST WORDS TELL US ABOUT LIFE, DEATH AND CONSCIOUSNESS

Words At The Threshold
Book 'Words at the Threshhold', 411x636

When her father became terminally ill with cancer, linguist Lisa Smartt began transcribing his conversations and noticed that his personality underwent inexplicable changes. Smartt’s father, once a skeptical man with a secular worldview, developed a deeply spiritual outlook in his final days ― a change reflected in his language.

Baffled and intrigued, Smartt began to investigate what other people have said while nearing death, collecting more than one hundred case studies through interviews and transcripts. In this groundbreaking book, Smartt shows how the language of the dying can point the way to a transcendent world beyond our own. Raymond Moody wrote the foreword to the book and mentored Lisa through this informal investigation into final words.

Cante Bardo

A Song Between Lives

CHANNELING OR MERELY THE IMAGINATION?

Cante Bardo
by Lisa Smartt, MA

One July morning as Lisa Smartt sat at her kitchen table, she heard these words, “I am Carlos Pena. I have come to tell my story. I am from Cadiz, Spain from the days when Flamenco was a pure art and La Culebra danced to my songs in the cafes of the gypsy tenements.” Over the course of four days, Lisa could not pull her hand from the page as Carlos dictated  his story.

He shared the tale of a gypsy singer caught in a life between lives for murders he committed—and the surprising redemption he finds with Jeannie Price, an illusionist who believes all of life’s magics is sleight of hand. This changes, however, when the ghost of Pena brings her love from the Bardo –and her life is transformed forever in the moments it is almost taken from her.

Was the story channeled from spirit, or is it merely the imagination at work? While writing this book, Lisa entered a deeply altered stated that “changed my life and connected me more deeply to my creative Source. Words were a doorway for a new heightened awareness.”

Decide for yourself where the voices come from as you enjoy this lyrical novel about near-death experiences and reincarnation, that bestselling NDE researcher Dr. Kenneth Ring describes as “brilliant.”

Veil

Poems from Across the Threshold

BEAUTIFUL & MYSTERIOUS POEMS FROM HER DECEASED FATHER

Veil: Poems From Across the Threshold
by Lisa Smartt, MA

A few weeks after her father’s death, linguist and educator, Lisa Smartt, heard his voice asking her to transcribe poems from beyond the veil for her mother and his beloved, Susan, wife of 54 years. While not certain if the voice she heard was truly that of her father, she suspended disbelief and listened attentively, and wrote down everything he said. The result is this beautiful collection of poems in celebration of life and love.

Lisa explains, “I am undecided if these poems come from my father truly or are merely inspired from the collective unconscious, but either way they hold deep beauty and the possibility for greater healing and connection in times of loss.”